Free online course on urban sanitation starts 13 October

A team of instructors led by Christoph Lüthi from the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) are eager to teach you how to plan urban sanitation systems.

Together with Sandec/Eawag, EPFL has designed a 5 week online course introducing sector planning tools and frameworks such as Sanitation 21, Community-Led Urban Environmental Sanitation (CLUES) and the Sanitation Systems Approach.

The course consists of lecture videos (English, with French subtitles), practical exercises, a homework quiz and a final exam. The questions and explanations for the practical exercises, the homework quiz and the final exam are offered in English and French. Watch the introduction video.

The course “Planning & Design of Sanitation Systems and Technologies” runs from 13 October to 16 November 2014.

It is the 2nd MOOC (massive open online course) of the series on “WASH in developing countries”. The first MOOC was on “Household Water Treatment and Safe Storage“.

10 responses to “Free online course on urban sanitation starts 13 October

  1. Dear Dr. Lüthi,
    Thank you for this initiative. Your course will be very useful to me and I will try to share my experiences in supporting sanitation in Africa and elsewhere. It will be great to take a comprehensive class again from EPFL.
    Cheers,
    Cara Tobin (PhD, EPFL 2012, now consulting engineer for UNDP)

  2. Befekadu Kassahun

    I am interested to be part of the training. when and how to register?

  3. Very good course. Every body should attend especially in in South Sudan

    Regards

  4. BERHANU TUNSISA GOBENA

    I am Berhanu Tunsisa Gobena. I work for Plan International Ethiopia as Community Led Total Sanitation /CLTS/ Coordinator. Recently I piloted Urban Community Led Total Sanitation to test workability of tools and principle of CLTS in urban context.
    A friend who knows my ambition in urban CLTS shared me the information of this course and I am higly interested to be registered to take the course so as to widen the scope of my knowledge for further innovation in Urban Sanitation.

  5. HELLO MY NAME IS ISSOUFOU FROM NIGER WEST AFRICA WE ARE VERY INTERESTED

  6. I am interested in the online course. ThanThanks

  7. its a nice course to me! I’m eager to participate

  8. I appreciate of what you are doing sir! I’m also eager to participate in the training!

Leave a Reply

