AMCOW AfricaSan Awards 2009 Winners

The African Ministers’ Council on Water (AMCOW) has named winners of Africa’s premier awards for exemplary achievements in sanitation and hygiene.

The AMCOW AfricaSan top honor for Leadership has been awarded to His Royal Highness Chief Macha, a traditional and community leader from Zambia who has used his status in a uniquely proactive manner to advocate for improved sanitation, not just in his Kingdom of Tonga which has now attained Open Defecation Free (ODF) status, but also in the wider district and province with a multitude of stakeholders (see related blog post).

Prof. Albert M. Wright (left). Photo: IISD

AMCOW AfricaSan awarded a Lifetime Achievement honor to Professor Albert Wright, who for more than four decades has made significant contributions to strategic development of water, sanitation and hygiene at global, African and national levels. He has been teacher, researcher, innovator, investment adviser, policy advisor and inspiration and mentor to an entire generation of the African water and sanitation community.

The AMCOW AfricaSan honor to an NGO/Civil Society Institution has been awarded to the Ethiopia Water Supply, Sanitation and Hygiene (WASH) Movement, a multi‐stakeholder coalition that has been exceptionally successful in promoting behavioural change on water, sanitation and hygiene, and increase the political and social commitment for progress in these areas.

Dr. Peter Morgan at the NETSSAF Conference, 2008. Photo: EcoSanRes

The AMCOW AfricaSan honor for Technical Innovation was awarded to Dr Peter Morgan, a Zimbabwean national, who for four decades has provided Africa with the most innovative technical ideas in sanitation and hygiene directly affecting poor people.

A special commendation was made to His Royal Highness Prince Willem‐Alexander for his global leadership role in advancing the cause of improved sanitation and hygiene.

AMCOW also announced the following awards:

  • The AMCOW AfricaSan Award (Runner up) for Leadership to WES Sudan.
  • The AMCOW AfricaSan Award (Finalist) for Leadership to The Daily Mail (Zambia).
  • The AMCOW AfricaSan Award (Runner up) for Technical Innovation to the Centre Régional pour l’Eau Potable et l’Assainissement à faible coût (CREPA).
  • The AMCOW AfricaSan Award (Finalist) for Technical Innovation to the Office National de l’Assainissement du Sénégal (ONAS).
  • The AMCOW AfricaSan Award (Runner up) for NGO/Civil Society to Water for People (Malawi).
  • The AMCOW AfricaSan Award (Runner up) for NGO/Civil Society to Africa Media Aid (Ghana).

AMCOW is the driving force behind the AfricaSan movement, a regional initiative that seeks to place sanitation and hygiene at the top of the development agenda in Africa. In 2008, the Africa Union Heads of State Summit mandated AMCOW to co‐ordinate implementation and monitoring of the eThekwini Declaration – which seeks to assist African countries to accelerate the achievement of national and global targets on water, sanitation and hygiene.

The AMCOW AfricaSan Awards are dedicated to recognizing outstanding efforts and achievements in sanitation and hygiene in Africa which result in large‐scale, sustainable behavior changes and tangible impacts.

The 2009 Awards are the first in a series of honors for achievements in three categories:

  • The Leadership Award honors individuals or institutions for strong leadership to sanitation and/or hygiene improvement through policy and strategy development, advocacy, institutional arrangements, financing, coordination and capacity development.
  • The Technical Innovation Award honors individual and institutional contributions to the improvement of technical solutions for sanitation services and products to make them affordable, reliable, and sustainable.
  • The NGO/Civil Society Award honors individual and institutional support to and mobilization of communities for the improvement of their sanitation and hygienic conditions.

Other categories will be honored in 2010.

The awards are administered by AMCOW, in collaboration with the Water Supply and Sanitation Collaborative Council (WSSCC), the Water and Sanitation Program (WSP), the African Development Bank (AfDB), UNICEF, the UN Secretary‐General’s Advisory Board on Water and Sanitation (UNSGAB), UN‐Water Africa, WaterAid and the Africa Civil Society Network on Water and Sanitation (ANEW).

Read more: DWAF, 09 Nov 2009


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s