SuSanA webinar: Learning from experiences in urban and rural sanitation marketing, Feb 15th, 15:30 CET (Stockholm time)

Please join us a SuSanA webinar on ‘Learning from experiences in urban and rural sanitation marketing’ scheduled for Wednesday February 15th 2017 at 15:30 CET (Stockholm time).

Overview:

The term “sanitation marketing” has come to mean different things to different people. In this webinar, we will explore two different approaches to sanitation marketing, one in the urban context, and one in rural areas.

Simon Okoth of the Water Services Trust Fund in Kenya will provide insights on the key elements of success in the Up-Scaling Basic Sanitation for the Urban Poor (UBSUP) programmme in urban, low-income areas of Kenya. The UBSUP sanitation social marketing approach is an elaborate marketing methodology that aims to improve access to basic sanitation services and is built along the entire sanitation chain. It targets, both the households and tenants, the policy makers, the service providers (water service providers) and entrepreneurs (private sector) with targeted messages to inspire them to play their roles in improving sanitation services for the residents of urban low income areas. The approach is established around 10 critical Ps (people, place, product, price, participation, promotion, policy, programs, positioning and partnerships).

Greg Lestikow of iDE will then delve into his organization’s rural sanitation marketing work in several countries. Although iDE’s approach differs by country, each program is driven by the common principles of designing solutions to context and building both supply capacity and consumer demand for sanitation solutions. Mr. Lestikow will outline critical program components and present techniques for measuring and improving sustainability as market-based sanitation programs reach scale.

Presenters:
Simon Okoth is a WASH specialist and Urban Investment Manager at the Kenya Water Services Trust Fund in Kenya. He has extensive knowledge and experience in areas spanning across WASH programmes, concepts development, programming, implementation, monitoring and evaluation.

Greg Lestikow is iDE’s WASH Innovation and Performance Manager. He brings his background in development economics and rigorous evaluation to support iDE’s seven WASH country programs, which together have facilitated the sale of over 450,000 hygienic latrines

Schedule: The webinar will last approximately 1 hour with two presentations and an open discussion with webinar participants. We will also open the session 30 minutes beforehand so you can test your video or microphone and meet other participants.

The webinar is being hosted by Stockholm Environment Institute and the SuSanA secretariat as part of a grant to SEI funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Time:
New Delhi, India Wed, 15 Feb 2017 at 20:00 IST
New York, USA Wed, 15 Feb 2017 at 09:30 EST
Nairobi, Kenya Wed, 15 Feb 2017 at 17:30 EAT
Hanoi, Vietnam Wed, 15 Feb 2017 at 21:30 ICT
London, United Kingdom Wed, 15 Feb 2017 at 14:30 GMT

To join the webinar please follow this link: seint.adobeconnect.com/seiwebinar/
To register to receive reminders please follow this link: www.susana.org/en/webinar-registration

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s