SuSanA webinar: Panel discussion on How to Influence and Engage Government in Sanitation – 1400 GMT 17 May 2017

Please join us a SuSanA webinar on ‘How to influence and engage government for sanitation’ scheduled for Wednesday May 17th 2017 at 14:00 GMT (UK Time).

Access to water and sanitation is a human right. But saying this isn’t enough to get a commitment from governments. To achieve SDG 6, we need to engage and influence government officials who are likely to have limited funding and competing priorities. If we understand the positions and challenges of these officials, we will be better able to engage them. Then we can influence governments at the local, provincial and national levels to give higher priority to sanitation services.

The panel discussion will take place on 17th May at 1400 GMT. You can register here . We are inviting SuSanA members to post their questions to the panel in the forum here – http://forum.susana.org/146-webinars-and-online-meetings/21379-panel-discussion-on-how-to-influence-and-engage-government-in-sanitation-1400-gmt-17-may-2017.

We have collected three experienced organisations that have worked to influence and engage governments on the challenges of WASH advocacy.

The World Toilet Organisation (WTO) has been working to influence and incentivise governments since its inception in 2001. They successfully advocated to establish World Toilet Day (WTD) as an official event on the UN calendar in 2014. Since then, they have used WTD to persuade governments around the world to invest in toilet systems..

WaterAid have worked with other organisations to make available user-friendly guidance aimed at local government officials. Their materials help officials better understand access to sanitation as a human right and to prioritise sanitation investment. You can read more about it here.

BRAC is the world’s largest development organisation and operates across 11 countries. They have achieved massive improvements in WASH in Bangladesh by encouraging the government to understand the importance of investing in sanitation.

Presenters:
Mr. Jack Sim – Founder, World Toilet Organisation

Ms. Louisa Gosling – Quality Programme Manager, WaterAid

Mr. Akramual Islam – Director of WASH, BRAC

Schedule: The discussion will last approximately 1.5 hours with three panellists and an open discussion with participants. We will also open the session 30 minutes beforehand so you can test your video or microphone and meet other participants.

Time:
New Delhi, India Wed, 17 May 2017 at 18:30 IST
New York, USA Wed, 17 May 2017 at 09:00 EST
Nairobi, Kenya Wed, 17 May 2017 at 16:00 EAT
Hanoi, Vietnam Wed, 17 May 2017 at 20:00 ICT
Stockholm, Sweden Wed, 17 May 2017 at 15:00 CET

To join the webinar please follow this link: seint.adobeconnect.com/seiwebinar/
To register to receive reminders please follow this link: www.susana.org/en/webinar-registration

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s